Site Search


2008, the year of the major transition & transformation witnessed in the history of Bhutan. Marking hundred years of Monarchical system, Coronation of the fifth King to the Golden throne and the country’s peaceful march to Democracy has further presented emolument of the Bhutanese as a wise and sovereign Nation. 


Beginning 1907 to 2008 the hereditary Kings of Bhutan has shown their exemplary record of kingship, noble men and true leaders giving the people the best. Discontented for the love of Future Bhutan, the farsighted fourth King His Majesty Jigme Singye Wangchuk abdicated in favor of his young prince and institutionalized the youngest democratic process in Bhutan, providing people a plate-form for wider choices.

Eventually in 2008, the democratization has taken its base and rooted. Druk Phunsum Tshogpa a new democratically elected Government ended its five years term into Power in mid-2013 generously. Today the second government elect has started its term upholding power until the mid-2018, the next general Election.

The Government of Bhutan is a Democratic Constitutional Monarchy. The King of Bhutan is head of stateExecutive power is exercised by the Lhengye Zhungtshog, or Council of Ministers, headed by the Prime MinisterLegislative power is vested in the two-house Parliament, both the upper National Council and the lower National Assembly.